Arts Martial

The three primary martial arts of the SCA are:

  • Armoured Combat:

  • Modelled on the tournament combat of the Middle Ages, with armour based on period examples but with weapons made of rattan (a kind of bamboo);
  • Rapier:

  • The ancestor of modern fencing, using blunted metal swords and, for safety, modern fencing masks; and
  • Archery:

  • Both target archery, using points or blunts, and combat archery in battle scenarios in which archers are able to shoot blunts at armoured combatants.